Walt Disney World & World Travels

I survived a week with my Dad” Our Happiest Place on Earth Trip Report

Posted on: May 25, 2009

Hi everyone! Welcome to my very first trip report

I hope that it’ll be entertaining & maybe informative, or at least gives you a little “Disney Fix” or maybe you just have a Dad you love, but drives you nuts

Trip: Dec 15th – 22nd, 2007  at Disney’s Boardwalk Villas

Cast of Characters:

Me: 36 happily married to the love of my life  who I met at Disney

My Husband (DH): 38 happily married to the love of his life  loves Disney almost as much as I do.

My Daughter (D14):  Teenage girl who makes sure her hair & makeup are done before going to the hot tub at 10pm  Not a morning person, but loves Disney!

My Son (DS10):  My baby, who grew up on this trip.

joining us for 5 days, (Sun December 16th – Fri December 21st) Dad & his wife Jackie.

Dad: 62, very active- more like ADHD  . He has a very short attention span, and can’t seem to stay still. He had back surgery this summer and is still limited in the things he can do, but that doesn’t stop him from wandering off.

Jackie: late 50’s. Great lady, she has been an excellent influence on my Dad. Loves to shop, eat, experience & enjoy.

A little Background:
DH & I met summer 1990 at Pleasure Island while I was on the Disney College Program and he was in the Navy stationed in Orlando for training. We married the next summer, with Mickey & Minnie as our cake topper. Honeymooned (before Disney Cruise Line existed) Premiere Cruise Lines Big Red Boat and Polynesian. We are a Disney family!  We’ve been going back to WDW for years and this summer we finally bought DVC. The promotion at the time was double developer points. So we have a lot of points to use and figured we would start with a Christmas trip. I’m not sure what possesed me (trying to use up points  ), but I decided to ask Dad if they would like to come with us and see what we love about Disney so much. They said yes, so I (we) started planning.

DH really, really, really, wanted to stay at Boardwalk. He’s always wanted to stay there, I usually get my way and stay at the Beach Club, but decided that he could have his choice this time. I tried to get a 2br at BWV, but could only get a 1br, so I booked that for us and a studio for Dad & Jackie at Saratoga Springs Resort. After thinking about it, that sounded better, a little bit of space would be good.

Then I made all the Advance Dining Reservations. Dad’s not a very adventurous eater (and doesn’t like to spend a lot of time or money eating) so I planned around that. I figured if DD would eat, then he would too. Although that changed as DD developed a bit of a palate on this trip

All that planning, and then 2 weeks before the trip I saw the holiday price increase for all the buffets  We spent hours looking at the Disney Dining Plan (DDP) and going over our old receipts trying to decide what to do. DS is a Disney adult, but all he was going to eat was kid meals (except for the buffets). We decided to pay for his kids meals out of pocket and use his table service credits for extra meals for the 3 of us. I called Dad and told him about the DDP, and that we were going to do it. He didn’t think they needed to spend $38 per person per day for food. I knew he didn’t get it, that (A) food at Disney is not cheap and (B) the rest of us wanted to eat nice meals, not just CS. Thankfully he gave the phone to Jackie, who knew a little about the DDP from her sister, and knew that it would be easier for my Dad to eat if it was prepaid. She said to sign them up  I knew I liked her! Of course now I need to rearrange some meals, but that was taken care of without a problem.

It was almost time to go! Gotta do laundry, pack, Christmas shopping, decorating, bake Christmas cookies. I was exhausted by the time we left, but it didn’t matter cuz we were going to Disney World!!!

Next up: It’s finally time to go!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 129 other followers

Twitter Updates

Top Clicks

  • None
