Walt Disney World & World Travels

“I survived a week with my Dad” Chapter 9

Posted on: May 27, 2009

Coaster boy strikes again!

Dad & Jackie want to do their own thing this morning.  That’s fine, we’ll meet in the United Kingdom at 1pm.  That should give us time to do “the world” before our 5:30pm Advanced Dining Reservation.

So we head to the Studios.  A few years ago, DS had a brave moment and wanted to ride Rockin Rollercoaster.  He wasn’t quite big enough, so the CM gave him a “Limo Pass” that said when he was tall enough to ride, bring the pass back for front of the line privileges.  We’ve brought the Limo Pass back several times, and he even tried to use it once but the ride broke down while we were waiting.  This time he’s going to use it!  DH grabs 4 fast passes (all of our tickets) for Tower of Terror  and then we walk over to Rockin Rollercoaster.  DD isn’t in the mood to ride, so the 3 of us head in.  The limo pass worked as a fast pass for our whole party.  Good thing the kid loves Aerosmith, the line is moving pretty fast.  Love the pre-show!  I haven’t been on this in years (usually sitting outside with DS)  Allright, want to ride with me?  I didn’t think so. —- 3,2,1 “Dude looks like a lady!”   Wow!  I’m singing and laughing (and hoping that my baby) is ok.   He’s never done corkscrews before … It’s over so fast, how’d he do? “Can we get in the single rider line?”   My baby isn’t a baby anymore.

Meet up with DD outside, and see the crowds in the street growing and moving this way.  She doesn’t really want to ride anything and decided to go to the room, maybe eat or catch up with my dad & Jackie. DH & DS go on what used to be their favorite ride, Tower of Terror.  I’ll just go sit and wait thank you very much.  I sat enjoying the sun, and had a great chat with a lady from Baltimore. It was really nice and before I knew it, the boys were back  and then they were gone to use the other 2 fast passes.   They really like Tower of Terro, I’m still thinking about it.   Maybe next trip I’ll be brave enough?   Now the boys are done, I say good bye to my new friend and head back to Rockin Rollercoaster.  The single rider line moved quick and the ride was even more fun this time.

12:30 already? Guess it’s time to head out of the Studios and make our way to Epcot.  OOH! Streetmoshpere! I love Streetmoshpere!   “The World’s most famous actress, Norma Desmond (?)” was needing a little attention, so DS posed for pictures with her.   Then we ran into “Jack Diamond, talent agent” and his assistant “Honey Darlin”.   “Jack” recognized DS’s talent immediately and then showed him some magic tricks.  That was so much fun!

— I have to stop and say that I know a lot of people don’t like the Studios, but it’s one of my favorite parks.  I suppose if you just rush from ride to ride you’re done in no time flat, but there’s so much to just “experience” here.  The Streetmoshphere characters and shows are hilarious.  We’re still quoting Honey Darlin a week later.  The detail on the shop windows, and all through the streets, the handprints outside GMR, there is so much to enjoy if you slow down to notice.–

Ooops, it’s almost 1 already. DD has picked up Counter Service  lunch for herself at Epcot and taken another ride on Test Track.  Now she’s catching up with Jackie & Dad (grandpa for her).

My plan is falling apart, and I don’t like that.  I like plans and schedules. We’re supposed to see World Showcase  & take a time out for the DVC Merry Mixer.  Deep breath, we’ll still have time to do everything.

Or maybe not. Dad Jackie & DD are already between Morocco & Japan!  We catch up only to find out that Dad & Jackie have spent the last few hours going through World Showcase themselves.  That was not the plan! DH grabs a quick lunch from Germany while DS & I get pretzels for lunch. We manage to finish just in time to catch the 3pm show at American Adventure.  Since they’ve already seen the rest of World Showcase (so they think, I’m pretty sure they missed a lot) we head towards the International Gateway to go out to the Merry Mixer.  Dad & Jackie are going to go with us, but at the last minute decide they need to stop in the World Traveler shop. Ok, we won’t be long.

This is our 1st trip as DVC members (Disney Vacation Club Members), and our 1st Merry Mixer. Outside the International Gateway, there is the party.  Music, dancing, games and sugar cookies that are unbelieveable. Pin trading, pictures with Mickey. It was pretty cool, but loud. Very loud. We didn’t stay long, got our ornaments and headed back into the park. Dad calls DH (again? I’m starting to get a complex!) He and Jackie are near The Land. They’ll meet us by the restaurant for dinner. Ok, we’ve got some time and the kids want to ride Test Track  again, so we walk over.  DH & I sit and rest d wait while the kids single rider line. Now, this is cool, as we’re sitting a guy comes up to me and says “So you listen to the DISunplugged?” I’m wearing my podsquad t-shirt that I won right before the trip We talked for a bit, about the show and our trips before he went back to find his family. How cool is that? Only in The World! The kids finish TT and we decide to cut through Mouse Gears on our way to the land. I look, and say hi to my dad Jackie likes to shop, so it wasn’t too surprising to find them there. So we wander through the store with them and then make our way to Garden Grill for our CLP package dinner.

Up next:I’ve waited years to see CLP

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 129 other followers

Twitter Updates

Top Clicks

  • None
