Walt Disney World & World Travels

Yummy Yummy Yummy – Jiko

Posted on: May 29, 2009

“Jiko is yummy” and “Jiko is gooooood” were 2 of the comments this morning

After letting DH nap for a couple of hours, he was ready for our 9pm Advanced Dining Reservation at Jiko. We drove over to Animal Kingdom Lodge and checked in a few minutes early.   We waited over by the bar, looking at the drink menu and were a little disappointed.   They only have 3 “specialty” cocktails listed and they weren’t that special: there was an appletini, cosmo & margarita with African names.   Our table was ready so we skipped the before dinner cocktails.

We were seated across from The Cooking Place which was neat to watch. We started with an appy to share, the Taste of Africa: Trio of Dips with Assorted Breads and House-made Naan

The green one was lentils, spinach & cilantro. It was pretty good, with a clean taste. The cilantro really came through. The red one was kind of spicy, and I’m not sure what was in that one. DH liked it, I kept trying it not sure if I liked it or not.  The purpleish one was hummus with kalamata olives. This was really good and my favorite! 

Ordering our entrees was the hard part.  With all the wonderful reviews of the filet, we all wanted that  but we all wanted to try other things too. DH, DD & DS all got the Oak Fired Filet Mignon with Mac & Cheese.  DS got his with the wine sauce on the side (he says “thanks MickeyNicki” for letting him know that he could do that)

Filet with wine sauce on the side

Filet with Mac & Cheese

They all raved about this dish! DH said he could have cut it with a fork and that the wine sauce was to die for. DD wanted to lick it off the plate, lol.  DS loved it as well and inhaled the mac & cheese.  It wasn’t a cheddar, but a variety of white cheeses so I really didn’t think he would end up liking it but I was glad to be wrong.

To change things up a little, I ordered the Kenyan Coffee BBQ Braised Beef Short Rib:

Wow, this was really good! I was given a steak knife, but I’m not sure why.  I was able to pull the meat off with a fork and the rest just fell off the bone. It was a huge serving, and I’ll be having the rest of it for lunch today. 

When our meals were served we were also given a basket of breads with tandoori butter:

There were 2 types of bread in there: a cinnamon honey bread that was very good and a 2nd one that I didn’t try.  I was trying to save room for dessert. I’ll try it with my lunch today because when our server boxed up my leftovers, he asked if I would like bread with it and boxed up a fresh order of it.

Onto my favorite part of any meal; Dessert!
DH had the Pistachio Creme Brulee with chocolate layered bottom:

This was very good and very rich. Good pistachio taste and the chocolate on the bottom was yummy.

DD & I both had to have the Tanzanian Chocolate Cheesecake with chocolate ganache, amarula sauce, and lavender ice cream:

First, presentation was beautiful! 2nd, it tasted even better than it looked.  Yummy Yummy Yummy! Rich Rich Rich! The cheesecake was fantastic, the lavendar ice cream was really good. I wasn’t sure what to expect but it was good.  It tasted like a really good vanilla ice cream with lavendar.  The lavendar tastes just like it smells for lack of a better description. I don’t think I’d want a whole bowl of it, but a little bit on the side was really good.

DS ordered the servers recommendation which isn’t even on the menu. He got the Smores & More:

To make it even cooler, this is a “make your own” dessert. On the plate were graham crackers, a bowl of chocolate ganache, a bowl of fresh (real) peanut butter and of course a bowl of toasted melted marshmallows.  DS was thrilled with this dessert! I got a little bite and it was really good!

DH & I ordered a press pot of coffee to go with our desserts:

We were told that this is Jiko’s very own blend of coffee and it was delicious!

When our server brought out our check, he also brought these little biscotti out:

We were too full to eat them, but I did try one (just doing my job as a good reviewer ) These were good, a little lemony & I believe it was dried blueberries. If I wasn’t so full, these would have been great to finish the meal off with.

1 appetizer, 4 adult entrees, 2 sodas, 4 desserts & 1 press pot coffee. Total after DDE/TiW discount with tax & tip: $209.89

Well worth the money, an excellent dinner & dining experience!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 129 other followers

Twitter Updates

Top Clicks

  • None
