Walt Disney World & World Travels

Wonder of Wonders -part 7

Posted on: June 17, 2009

Tonights theme is Pirates!  Pirates in the Caribbean party will be after dinner (which is pirate themed) and before we see Toy Story the musical, we get to meet Captain Jack Sparrow.

I have to say, Captain Jack Sparrow was awesome!  He must have spent almost 5 minutes with everyone that came through and it was a different experience for everyone.  The photopass photographer was in hysterics.  Talking to several CM’s later, they all love working with Captain Jack because he’s soooo much fun.

Toy Story the musical was AWESOME!!!!!   Of course, no cameras/video allowed, so I can’t show you anything but it was amazing.  The cast is very talented and the actor (actress) that played Sid was out of this world incredible.  Really truly the high point of the show!  I don’t care if you’re sailing with or without kids, DO NOT MISS THESE SHOWS!  In all seriousness, the show(s) are great for all ages and should not be missed.

Dinner tonight was at Parrot Cay.  Perfect place for the evenings theme!   

I did not order a drink with dinner because we were treated to wine with our meal.  The choices were a Chardonnay & and Cabernet.  Chardonnay’s and I don’t like each other all that much, so I went with the Cab.   I started with the Baked Crab Martinique–jumbo lump crab baked in a creamy cheese sauce severd with colorful tortilla chips and Plantain chips.  This was really good!  Big chunks of crab with lots of creamy cheesey goodness!  I wasn’t overly fond of the plantain chips, they were a little soggy in my humble opinion.  I followed that with the Cold Cream of  Mango & Papaya soup.  YUMMY!  It was perfect, not too heavy but creamy.  You could add some rum and it would make a lovely tropical drink–just a thought.

Since my server Nino’s recommendations had been so spot on, I continued to let him lead the way.  His entree recommendation was the Mixed Grill–grilled sirloin steak, lamb chop, bacon wrapped sausage, and jumbo shrimp on mashed potatoes, served with asparagus and grilled tomato with a Cabernet mushroom sauce.  To be honest, if I had picked I would have gone with the pan seared grouper or maybe the Island spiced grilled rib eye of beef.  Good thing I didn’t pick, Nino was right again!  This meal was incredible.  The sauce was to die for good, the steak was cooked to order perfectly rare, lamb chop was tender, shrimp were cooked perfectly and even the sausage was good and I’m not a sausage person.  

Somehow after all of that, I still managed to order (and eat) dessert.  Normally I would order whatever was the most chocolately option but I’m trusting my server and he says to go with the French Toast Banana Bread with coconut ice cream and caramel sauce.  I will say Nino was on a roll!  This was a rich, decadent dessert and I wasn’t able to finish it.  The coconut ice cream really made it work!  After all that food it was hard to believe that the evenings festivities were going to start up while we were still in the restaurant.  We had to join a conga line and do the limbo.  Those that didn’t participate cheered and waved napkins.  It was crazy and hilarious and a lot of fun!

As soon as we were done with dinner it was time to head up to Decks 9 & 10 for the Pirate Party. –fyi, if you didn’t bring any Pirate gear and wanted some, it was available for sale in several locations–  Rita our Facilitator for the trip had told us we would want to be on deck 9 port or deck 10 port/center for the best view of the fireworks.  Yes, you read that right, I said FIREWORKS!  Only Disney does a fireworks show at sea!!!!  Before the fireworks, the show starts with a lot of dancing and singing along.  There are several special guests through the party and it culminates with the fireworks.  I don’t want to give away too much but I will say that as a group of women between 21 – 70  we had a BLAST.  I saw a couple of kids that slept on their daddy’s shoulder, but most were dancing the night away.  Fun for all ages!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 129 other followers

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Top Clicks

  • None
